Liebster Award

I have just been nominated for a Liebster Award by the lovely Leah of Silentology, a warm and enthusiastic shrine to the wonders of silent film.

Here are the rules when nominated for a Liebster:

a) Answer the eleven questions of the tagger.

b) Share eleven facts about yourself

c) Nominate up to eleven other bloggers

Here are Leah’s questions:

1. You are given the opportunity to make a movie. Money is no object. What’s it gonna be?

An adaptation of Wuthering Heights which is true to the book. While I don’t mind film adaptations of books being different from the source material, I really do wish we had a “definitive” WH film. It would be set in the correct period (the late 18th century), feature both generations, have Heathcliff portrayed as a Romani (the book strongly implies he is not white), shot in black-and-white (fits the atmosphere to me), and filmed on location in England.

2. You have the choice between two superpowers: learning any language in seconds, or being able to fix any car problem instantly. You must choose! 

Learning any language in seconds! I would love to know French and Japanese in particular so I would not have to watch my favorite foreign films with subtitles.

3. Which three places/countries must you visit before you die?

Ireland, Germany, and Denmark

4. You can go back in time to witness one historic event. Just one. What is it?

I would have loved to see the first production of Hamlet.

5. What is one very obscure or off-the-wall film you would recommend?

Ralph Bakshi’s Wizards. It’s insane and probably not objectively “good,” but I thoroughly enjoy it. Imagine Lord of the Rings meets Star Wars meets 1970s acid trip.

6. Which decade of film do you appreciate the most?

The 1920s.

7. If someone handed you a million dollars, what frivolous thing would you buy first?

A copy of the 1920s book tie-in for The General. Maybe not super frivolous, but I want one.

8. Which book do you wish you had written?

The Parade’s Gone By, because I would have loved to interview all of those filmmakers and stars from the silent era.

9. What are your three guilty pleasure movies?

The Sheik, because goofy Valentino faces.

Flash Gordon, because it contains operatic levels of camp.

Dario Argento’s Phantom of the Opera, because telepathic rats and general weirdness.

10. What is the one tip you would give to a beginning blogger?

Follow your passions. Don’t write something if your heart is not in it or you feel you don’t have much to say.

11. Okay, Keaton or Chaplin?

Love Chaplin, but Keaton is a demigod to me.

11 facts about me:

1. The King’s Curse by Philippa Gregory was the last book I finished. She’s kind of a literary guilty pleasure for me: her books are not 100 percent accurate to history, but gosh, they’re fun!

2. Anne of the Thousand Days was the last movie I watched– just five minutes ago, actually! As you can see, I’m on a Tudor kick right now.

3. I love me some Shakespeare. My three favorite plays of his are Hamlet, Richard III, and Romeo and Juliet.

4. I’d pick Walt Disney World over Universal Studios any day.

5. I don’t watch many TV series (what can I say, I have commitment issues), but my top five would be Princess Tutu, Animaniacs, Revolutionary Girl Utena, the 1971 Lupin III, and Avatar: The Last Airbender.

6. I have German, French, Irish, and Spanish heritage.

7. History was my first major obsession as a child.

8. I am still depressed over what happens to Bing-Bong the cotton candy elephant from Inside Out.

9. My top three favorite video games are Final Fantasy IV, Chrono Trigger, and Final Fantasy X.

10. I have a special fondness for the pre-Studio Ghibli work of Hayao Miyazaki and Isao Takahata.

11. My bottom three films are The Phantom Menace, the 1925 Wizard of Oz, and Free and Easy.

Alright, here are my nominations: Movies Silently and Hamlette’s Soliloquy. Because I am a recluse and don’t socialize much even on the net.

Here are my questions, mwahaha:

1. Who’s your most attractive historical person?

2. Favorite animated film and three reasons why.

3. Three movies you wish would get released on DVD/Blu-ray?

4. Favorite TV series.

5. Historical figure you find the most fascinating.

6. Would you prefer the ability to fly or talk to animals?

7. A movie or TV series that is objectively well-made that you just couldn’t warm up to.

8. Three movies you love that everyone else hates.

9. Three movies you hate that everyone else loves.

10. Three favorite film scores.

11. Favorite dessert.

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Oh, those goofy Valentino faces! Especially when he opens his eyes suuuuuuuuper wide. So funny! And yet, that’s the movie that made me fall in love with him.

    I’ve finally finished posting this myself here. Thanks for the award!

    Like

    • It’s the movie that made me fall in love with him too, I confess. Even when acting like Wile E. Coyote, he’s so handsome.

      And you’re welcome for the award. Your blog is fab.

      Like

Leave a Reply

