Renegade Cut analysis of A Clockwork Orange (dir. Stanley Kubrick, 1971)

Leon Thomas’s Renegade Cut has long been one of my favorite web series, certainly my favorite on the Channel Awesome website.  Instead of going for the gag-heavy skit format, he keeps to the analysis, which I tend to prefer with my video essays. Renegade Cut episodes are usually ten to twenty minutes long; this analysis of Kubrick’s A Clockwork Orange is an exception, clocking in at 38 minutes. It’s a damned good look at the film’s meditations on morality and free will, worth your time.

As for ACO itself, I just saw the (in?)famous film version yesterday. Even a day afterward, I’m still reeling. You know you’ve come across a great movie when its images stay in your head long after the end credits have finished. Like its source material, Kubrick’s film has you mulling over the big philosophical questions and makes you uncomfortable in just how much you come to sympathize with its monstrous protagonist. I’ll have to write my own ruminations on it down one day, once I’ve got some additional viewings under my belt. For now, enjoy some film analysis courtesy of Mr. Thomas.

Leave a Reply

