Announcing a new series!

Silent Volume: The New York Hat (1912)
Mary Pickford in the 1912 short, The New York Hat. Image source: Silent Volume.

I’m going to do a new monthly series on this blog: Short of the Month.

I love movie shorts, especially silent one or two-reelers. In college, I would actually spend my lunch break binging Biograph two-reelers or Oswald the Lucky Rabbit cartoons. That’s how nerdy I am about this.

Like the best short fiction, a short film can pack a lot into a brief running time. While the Shakespeare quote “Brevity is the soul of wit” did come from the mouth of Hamlet‘s long-winded Polonius character, that does not make the phrase any less true. Shorter does not always equate to trivial or shallow.

While I’m mostly going to be focusing on silent and early sound shorts, there will also be titles from the 1940s as well, if not occasionally the 1950s and 1960s.

Here are my main guidelines regarding my selections for this series:

1. The film has to be made between the silent era and the 1960s.

2. No one agrees on what exactly constitutes a “short film,” but I’m going to go with movies that run no more than 40 minutes.

I’m really excited about this, as I have so many favorites. Expect the first post tomorrow!

Leave a comment